Tiger Lee's World Class Tae Kwon Do :: Affiliations

Professional Affiliations

Yong In University was started as a physical education college, but now it is a private university with 35 departments for both day and night sessions in the six colleges: Martial Art, Physical Science, Culture and Art, Business Administration, Environmental Science and Health and Welfare. The university has established seven special graduate schools in Education, Physical Science, Art, Business, Rehabilitation and Health Science, Taekwondo, Cultural Asset and one general graduate school with eight subordinate organizations including the Central Library and 18 affiliate organizations.

The Korea Taekwondo Association (KTA), was the first taekwondo organisation. It was founded in 1959, although official South Korean sources give 1961 as its year of establishment. In 1966, some members of the KTA, led by H. H. Choi, formed the International Taekwon-Do Federation (ITF); other members founded Kukkiwon and the World Taekwondo Federation (WTF) in the early 1970s. The KTA sits under the Korea Sports Council, is aligned with Kukkiwon, and is a Member National Association (MNA) of the WTF. Its goal is to promote the martial art taekwondo as a national sport within South Korea.

Kukkiwon, also known as the World Taekwondo Headquarters, and home of the World Taekwondo Academy, is the official taekwondo governing organisation established by the South Korean government. It is supervised by the International Sports Division of the Ministry of Culture, Sports, and Tourism.

The World Taekwondo Federation (WTF) is the international federation governing the sport of taekwondo and is a member of the Association of Summer Olympic International Federations (ASOIF). The WTF was established on May 28, 1973 at its inaugural meeting held at the Kukkiwon with participation of 35 representatives from around the world. There are now 205 member nations.